Spare finger!

Only for the Shadows, their music, their members and Shadows-related activity

Moderators: David Martin, dave robinson, Iain Purdon, George Geddes

Spare finger!

Postby noelford » Sat Jan 16, 2010 10:28 am

I've be playing guitar for nigh on fifty years. I've never had a lesson, never used a tutorial and am entirely self taught. I actually believed at one time that I had invented hammering on and pulling off, only to discover that these are well established techniques and everybody plays that way! Because of the way I learned to play, I have undoubtedly picked up some bad habits and some odd techniques, such as the way, when playing some chords, I often use just one finger to bar three strings (for instance when playing a chord of D at the fifth fret, I bar the B, G and D strings with my little finger.

Amazingly, after all these years, I have only just noticed that, when playing lead, I hardly ever use the fourth (between middle and little) finger of my fretting hand. When I noticed, I made a conscious effort to use this finger more but it simply doesn't feel right. So, I'm just wondering. Is this something else that everybody does or is it a another bad habit that is far too late for me to change?
noelford

Re: Spare finger!

Postby Risky » Sat Jan 16, 2010 10:42 am

Noel

It didn't cause Django much problem:

"With rehabilitation and practice he relearned his craft in a completely new way, even as his third and fourth fingers remained partially paralyzed. He played all of his guitar solos with only two fingers, and used the two injured digits only for chord work".

Phil
(ex-guitar player) - now a ukulele and ukulele bass player!
Update: After 10 years absence, now a born-again Hankie
Risky

Full Real Name: Phil Wolstenholme

Postby AlanMcKillop » Sat Jan 16, 2010 11:56 am

Django only used his 1st and 2nd fingers as the other two were damaged, although he could use the damaged fingers as a sort of barre. ;)