Advise on Tablets

Only for the Shadows, their music, their members and Shadows-related activity

Moderators: David Martin, dave robinson, Iain Purdon, George Geddes

Advise on Tablets

Postby Sothall Mike » Wed Sep 18, 2019 2:37 pm

Hope some of you can help, I'm after some advise as to which Computer Tablet to get for :- Backing Tracks, Lyrics, TAB reading, Set Lists etc. I'm loathed to go down the Apple route simply on the price and limited App selection ? Also which Apps anyone can recommend, and nay other advise would be welcome.

Many thanks
Mike Kilner
Sothall Mike

Full Real Name: Michael Kilner

Re: Advise on Tablets

Postby RogerCook » Wed Sep 18, 2019 4:54 pm

I'm just starting out on this path. I actually dislike seeing music stands and tablets on stage so I'm hoping a tablet can be subtly positioned on the floor where it will be fairly inconspicuous. Having said that, I think the largest screen size possible is needed so you can actually read it. However the bigger devices are expensive. I've bought a RCA Maven Pro, £119 from Asda and has Android OS and an 11.6" screen, just about big enough to read charts, lyrics etc. I'm trying MobileSheetsPro as the app to display the documents (there's a free version too but it has limited features). You can also link a Bluetooth page turner pedal for hands free use. I've started loading charts as PDFs plus a few backing tracks.

I haven't got very far and the learning curve is quite steep but it's promising!
RogerCook

Full Real Name: Roger Cook

Postby barryg » Wed Sep 18, 2019 8:32 pm