Atlantis guitar

Only for the Shadows, their music, their members and Shadows-related activity

Moderators: David Martin, dave robinson, Iain Purdon, George Geddes

Atlantis guitar

Postby MikeAB » Fri Dec 03, 2021 1:30 pm

As a non expert I always read with great interest the debates on 'which guitar used' which still rage e.g. in the reprinted Burns booklet.

Is it possible 'everyone' is right' about Atlantis I wonder. Could Hank remember a Strat because one was used on the the 'overdubbing and damped sections' - but the main melody was a Burns as many think? The stereo split could certainly support that idea.

Mike
MikeAB

Full Real Name: Mike Barnes

Re: Atlantis guitar

Postby phil kelly » Fri Dec 03, 2021 1:54 pm

Its the strat on all of it, no burns
phil kelly

Full Real Name: phil kelly

Postby fenderplucker » Fri Dec 03, 2021 2:34 pm

I agree with Phil, Strat all the way.

Why? Well, firstly, Atlantis was recorded in December 1962, about a year before Hank started using the Burns (conspiracy theories about earlier prototypes are not supported by documented conversations with either Hank or Jim Burns) and, secondly, the Strat nails the Atlantis tone so why look further?

Paul.
fenderplucker

Full Real Name: Paul Rossiter

Postby bgohara » Fri Dec 03, 2021 3:16 pm

love it - thanks Paul and Phil. I agree.
bgohara

Full Real Name: Bernard O'Hara

Postby iefje » Fri Dec 03, 2021 3:28 pm

The Shadows also played "Atlantis" live for the "Show Of The Week" TV show, broadcast on April the 5th, 1966. This rendition was played on Burns guitars and has that distinctive Burns tone which very much differs from that of the Fender Stratocaster.
iefje

Full Real Name: Ivo Koers

Postby dave robinson » Fri Dec 03, 2021 4:24 pm

It's a Fender Stratocaster with a lot of compression. ;)
Dave Robinson
dave robinson

Full Real Name: David Robinson

Postby davidherbert54 » Fri Dec 03, 2021 7:22 pm