Love DeLuxe/Sweet Saturday Night question

Only for the Shadows, their music, their members and Shadows-related activity

Moderators: David Martin, dave robinson, Iain Purdon, George Geddes

Love DeLuxe/Sweet Saturday Night question

Postby drakula63 » Thu Apr 22, 2010 5:42 pm

I was just wondering if anyone knows whether or not Hank used his Roland Guitar Synth on the B-side of Love Deluxe, Sweet Saturday Night ?

Having heard a live recording, and seen a pic, I know that Hank used the guitar synth on Love Deluxe when they played it on the 1978 tour - I think he also used it on Honourable Puff-Puff and maybe Flingel Bunt. Now I'm no expert (on anything), but it sounds to me like he does use it on SSN, as the solo doesn't quite sound like it's being played on a guitar - something about the way the notes bend and decay. I wonder if, during the same song, it's the guitar synth doing the little 'bleep, bleep' sounds as well?

Just wondering...
drakula63

Full Real Name: Chris Drake

Re: Love DeLuxe/Sweet Saturday Night question

Postby drakula63 » Mon Apr 26, 2010 12:45 pm

Oh well, guess it was a bit too obscure...even by my standards. Thanks for looking, sorry no-one was able to help.

:cry:
drakula63

Postby iefje » Mon Apr 26, 2010 3:15 pm

The 'bleep, bleep' sounds sound very similar to those in "Jungle Jam", in that song played by John Farrar. Hank played a Gibson guitar during "Love Deluxe" on stage in 1978.
iefje

Full Real Name: Ivo Koers

Postby JimN » Mon Apr 26, 2010 4:39 pm

The guitar played live on stage for Love Deluxe in 1978 was not a Gibson. It was a Roland guitar synthesiser - the GR-500.

There's a picture of one here (the guitar synth is all the gear you see, not just the bit looks like a guitar):

http://tinyurl.com/39y6ar8