Squier Classic Vibe Strat Series 9.5 radius

For anything to do with guitars, amps and effects units

Moderators: Iain Purdon, dave robinson, George Geddes, David Martin

Squier Classic Vibe Strat Series 9.5 radius

Postby anniv 63 » Wed Mar 06, 2019 1:57 pm

Hi
Just wondered if anyone here has fitted a Wilkinson WVP6 replacement trem/block system for this model?
I understand the body depth needs to in the region of 46 mm to accomodate the bridge/ steel block.
As this Squier is Chinese made it may have a thinner body depth? although it is Alder
Certainly fits a Made in Japan Squier 7.5 radius neck and basswood body
ok and ultra reliable as I can vouch for this, over the years having one.
Many thanks if anyone can advise
anniv 63
 
Posts: 602
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 5:16 pm
Full Real Name: mj shiach

Re: Squier Classic Vibe Strat Series 9.5 radius

Postby Stu's Dad » Fri Mar 08, 2019 1:25 am

anniv 63 wrote:Hi
Just wondered if anyone here has fitted a Wilkinson WVP6 replacement trem/block system for this model?
I understand the body depth needs to in the region of 46 mm to accomodate the bridge/ steel block.
As this Squier is Chinese made it may have a thinner body depth? although it is Alder
Certainly fits a Made in Japan Squier 7.5 radius neck and basswood body
ok and ultra reliable as I can vouch for this, over the years having one.
Many thanks if anyone can advise


I've done exactly that and the body depth is fine. I think the block is actually shorter than the original. The difference is in the screw hole spacing. I found this tip on line a few years ago and had no trouble following it:

If you're not worried about drilling two holes, you should be able to fit a Wilkinson WV6SBCR without too much trouble. They have 1 round hole and five slotted holes, if you start at the D/G mounting holes and work outwards the B & A will also fit, and the two e's will be about half a hole out. It's simple enough to plug and re- drill, I've used these on two Squiers now with no problem.

Len
Stu's Dad
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 3:34 pm
Full Real Name: Leonard Evans

Re: Squier Classic Vibe Strat Series 9.5 radius

Postby anniv 63 » Fri Mar 08, 2019 12:03 pm

Hi Len
Many thanks for your reply and very helpful information for a starting point on this
planned trem/block change

Regards
Mike
anniv 63
 
Posts: 602
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 5:16 pm
Full Real Name: mj shiach

Re: Squier Classic Vibe Strat Series 9.5 radius

Postby Uncle Fiesta » Sat Mar 09, 2019 6:12 pm

Stu's Dad wrote: … It's simple enough to plug and re- drill ...



True, but it's probably easier to elongate the holes in the bridge plate to line up with the holes that are already there. I've done this a couple of times and it worked fine.
User avatar
Uncle Fiesta
 
Posts: 844
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: near Gainsborough, England
Full Real Name: Steve Tebble

Re: Squier Classic Vibe Strat Series 9.5 radius

Postby Stu's Dad » Sat Mar 09, 2019 8:40 pm

Uncle Fiesta wrote:
Stu's Dad wrote: … It's simple enough to plug and re- drill ...



True, but it's probably easier to elongate the holes in the bridge plate to line up with the holes that are already there. I've done this a couple of times and it worked fine.


It's an alternative Steve, but I wouldn't say it was easier. Wood's easier to work than steel.
Stu's Dad
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 3:34 pm
Full Real Name: Leonard Evans


Return to Guitars, Amps & Effects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

Ads by Google
These advertisements are selected and placed by Google to assist with the cost of site maintenance.
ShadowMusic is not responsible for the content of external advertisements.