VOX VT40 Amp & ZOOM G2

For anything to do with guitars, amps, effects units and any other music making accessories

Moderators: David Martin, dave robinson, Iain Purdon, George Geddes

VOX VT40 Amp & ZOOM G2

Postby Alexis Lambert » Sat Feb 27, 2016 5:05 am

I have a VOX VT40 amp & have got a ZOOM G2 with the Charlie Hall patch installed. I can't seem to get it working, does anyone know if it's compatible?
I'm a beginner & would like the Hank sound. The amp comes with alot of preset amps & effects but the manual doesn't exactly read easy to me. I literally have all the knobs turned to max as i can't work out what they do.
Alexis Lambert

Re: VOX VT40 Amp & ZOOM G2

Postby Stu's Dad » Sat Feb 27, 2016 11:37 pm

Alexis,

I've got a VT20+ and a Zoom G7, and they work very well together. First of all, set Amp select to Manual and select your amp - there are some great amp sounds there but I find for Shadows material the AC30 Heritage (Orange light) is the best. Set the gain at about 11 o'clock, pre-amp volume about 1 o'clock, then all your tones around 12 0'clock. That's only a starting point for your tones, tweak them anywhere between 10 and 2 o'clock to suit yourself. Make sure to set the Tuner/Bypass on.

You didn't mention your guitar, so I'm assuming you've got a decent Strat. If you can't get near with those settings there's some other unknown factor stopping you. I'm using a Squier Classic Vibe 50s, which comes with vintage Fender pickups, and my sound's spot on.

Regards,

Len
Stu's Dad

Full Real Name: Leonard Evans

Postby RUSSET » Sun Feb 28, 2016 12:22 pm

Hi Alexis,
I have used the Zoom G2 for many years now, & in a gigging situation too. It is a great little pedal & should produce most of the 'Shads' tones & echoes that you will ever need, near enough to be imperceptible to any audience, other than Shads anoraks. I like it that much that I bought another, as a spare.