Vox AC30

Anything to do with Fender, Burns and other guitars; also amps, effects units including eTap, plus any other music making accessories

Moderators: David Martin, dave robinson, Iain Purdon, George Geddes

Vox AC30

Postby MikeAB » Wed Oct 25, 2023 12:25 pm

I'm after some expert help!

With the dawning of arthritis I am thinking of having a last Shads blast by buying a 'proper' AC30 (no sound next door problems by the way).

I have an AC15 VR which I've never really warmed to, and I get my best sound through headphones and the AC30 Amplug - which I use to record with - and is fantastic. I use the H & C Signature Echo and a Mexican Marvin Strat with 11's.

Looking at ebay there are loads on sale but also lots of variations - speakers etc etc.

I am no expert on amps so if anyone knows what versions to avoid I would appreciate the tip (eg a VR version!).

Mike
MikeAB

Full Real Name: Mike Barnes

Re: Vox AC30

Postby bazmusicman » Wed Oct 25, 2023 1:47 pm

I have two for sale. One is a VOX 1964 JMI AC30 all hand wired, which is the holy grail one to have.

Also I have a Shadows 50 Anniversary VOX JMI AC30 Number 6 of 10 Limited Addition, all hand wired as used on there Final Tour.

PM for details.
Regards, Baz.
bazmusicman

Full Real Name: barry palmer

Postby dave robinson » Wed Oct 25, 2023 5:45 pm

One era definitely to avoid is the Rose Morris period when the AC30 had a circuit board with the valves on it. I had one that was supposed to be a 'special edition' with leather handles and an anniversary plaque on the back. I was nothing but trouble and didn't sound that good either. Bruce's tech man, Mick Johnson had a go at fixing it as did another AC30 expert from Scarborough and it would not operate properly, due to the circuit board overheating and constantly distorting, causing bad connections.