Help, advice needed on choosing a guitar

Anything to do with Fender, Burns and other guitars; also amps, effects units including eTap, plus any other music making accessories

Moderators: David Martin, dave robinson, Iain Purdon, George Geddes

Help, advice needed on choosing a guitar

Postby tonyRyman » Sun Oct 03, 2010 12:32 pm

Hi To All

I hope i have posted this in the correct place?.

I need some advice on choosing another guitar. I am only a novice player been playing for about 18 months on a Squire Hank Marvin signiture guitar
and would like to get a better guitar.

Is the Hank Marvin signiture MIM guitar a better instrument as i know of one for sale, what would be a fair price for one in good condition?

I have considered getting a Fender Stratocaster Classic Player but can not decide on 50 's or 60's model, would this be a better guitar, than the Hank Marvin signiture MIM guitar made in the 1990"s.

Kind regards
Tony
tonyRyman

Full Real Name: Anthony Ryman

Re: Help, advice needed on choosing a guitar

Postby AlanMcKillop » Sun Oct 03, 2010 1:37 pm

A lot of people don't seem to rate the MIM guitars and I too had my doubts before owning several. The Classic Player series are excellent, both the 50's or 60's and both are fitted with C/S 57/62 p/u's. The only downside is that neither models come in Fiesta Red, Shoreline Gold and Sunburst in the 50's and Sonic Blue (I think) and Sunburst in the 60's series.

I loved the Sunburst 50's model so much, that I got Ian Harper to respray it FR, so that's another route you can go down if colour matters.

MIM also do a Classic series which does come in FR, but I'm not sure which p/u's are fitted, but again replacement is an option.

IMHO, the 60's series is very slightly better, I like the sound and feel of the rosewood neck, however, it does have better p/u's than the MIM HM sig, but not the correct colour.
AlanMcKillop

Full Real Name: Alan McKillop

Postby dave robinson » Sun Oct 03, 2010 2:08 pm