Tony Meehan

Anything to do with drums, percussion and drummers

Moderators: David Martin, dave robinson, Iain Purdon, George Geddes

Tony Meehan

Postby Billyboygretsch » Sat Jul 19, 2014 5:12 pm

I am a guitarist not a drummer but I really notice the difference between Tony Meehan and Brian Bennett. Tony reminds me a bit of Keith Moon. Was his kit very different to Brian's. Tonys always sounded sharper in tone not performance wise. Can some clever guy with sticks enlighten me
Cheers
Bill
Billyboygretsch

Full Real Name: Bill Lovegrove

Re: Tony Meehan

Postby Paul Creasey » Sat Jul 19, 2014 5:39 pm

Hello Bill,

"Clever guy with sticks".............surely a contradiction in terms, if some of my "Guitarist" friends are to be believed, eh? :lol:
As far as I am aware whilst there are differences in style, the differences in equipment were not significant.
I liked Tony's style a lot, as I do Brian's. "Vive la difference" as they say across the water.
Can't say Tony ever reminded me of Keith Moon (who I never had much time for as a Drummer anyway - sorry!) although there was, perhaps, something in Tony's more staccato style that could "ring a bell".
It does seem to me that Brian's style, range & technique has developed over the years, and if I were into emulating either of them (which I'm not, as I simply don't have the technical skill! :roll: ), it would have to be Brian.

Regards
Paul.
Paul Creasey

Postby Billyboygretsch » Sat Jul 19, 2014 7:52 pm

Thanks for that I like both but they do seem very different. I think that staccato effect was what I liked about Keith Moon. I liked his sound and his antics until he got too silly . Should have been an actor was great in Tommy. All share our own opinions
Billyboygretsch

Postby martcaster » Mon Jul 21, 2014 7:14 pm