Hi from a forum newbie

Anything about people who are not Shadows members

Moderators: David Martin, dave robinson, Iain Purdon, George Geddes

Hi from a forum newbie

Postby Mike Honey » Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:18 pm

Hi all. i am 62 years old and live in the Dordogne France. I have played the guitar since i was nine and at the moment am part of a French/English duo playing sixties and seventies music. Prior to coming to France 9 years ago I had a Music shop in Thatcham Berkshire and did repairs set-ups etc. I am a teacher and have taught just under 2,000 people to play guitar both privately, and at schools and evening classes. I have owned Gibsons,Watkins, arias, Ibanez and Rickenbackers but always come back to the Fender strat. I play at the moment a Mexican strat with Hi-end pick-ups through a Fender 212R and a couple of Digital delay pedals (Boss and Behringer), also a Fender solid top Elec/Acoustic.
I was inspired to take up the guitar by firstly Bert Weedon and then The shadows music. **The following is my personal opinion and is not intended to be derogatory to anyone. Each to his own!!** Whilst loving the shads and particularly Hank, I am not into trying to replicate evry pick and nuance exactly. I liken it to Michael Ball singing the songs of Sinatra!! He makes the songs his own!

Anyway i'm looking forward to swapping info and ideas on this forum I've still got a lot to learn. thats whats great about the guitar!!

Mike
Mike Honey

Re: Hi from a forum newbie

Postby Bluesnote » Thu Dec 10, 2009 5:53 pm

Hi Mike. Hope you have a good time on this site. I am with you on the not being too fussy about note for note with Hank. You really do need to put some of yourself into the music otherwise the best you can achieve is an inferior copy of the man imo.
I think we mostly all started with uncle Berts book :roll: It was really the only one around that was worthwhile at the time as far as I could find :)
Bluesnote

Postby steve.t » Thu Dec 10, 2009 7:17 pm