Shazam - "How To" Question

Loads of accumulated experience

Moderators: David Martin, dave robinson, Iain Purdon, George Geddes

Shazam - "How To" Question

Postby donna plasky » Wed Mar 21, 2012 9:41 pm

Hi, everyone. I was wondering if I may ask your advice on how to play a certain phrase in the tune, Shazam. I am a beginner, and thus the inability to play a simple song like Shazam. I've included a YouTube video of Shazam, where at just about the 0:16 seconds mark, Hank plays the part that is puzzling me. Goran's tab site shows the tabs as saying this:

[I have omitted the initial open E's and open A's on the 6th and 5th strings (at least I understood that part :D ).]

On the 6th string:

0 - 5/7 - 0 - 5/7 - 0 | 5/7 - 0 - 0 - 0 - 5/7 - 5/7

Long story made short, I was wondering if you might either be able to tell me what I am supposed to play...or can you suggest something a little easier so I can "fake it." If I am not mistaken, I can both hear and see Hank doing some sort of "run" up and down the fretboard. But when I look at the tabs, I do not see it. Perhaps some of the zero's represent the "runs" and I am misreading them to mean a single picked open E. I am guessing that a little pick-and-slide from the 5th fret to the 7th fret would not produce the cool "z z z z z" sound that Hank is playing.

If I am having trouble with Shazam, you can just imagine the look on my face when I saw the sheet music for Nivram and Shadoogie. :crazy:

Thank you so very much.

Kind regards,
Donna

donna plasky

Full Real Name: Donna Plasky

Re: Shazam - "How To" Question

Postby RogerCook » Wed Mar 21, 2012 10:43 pm

Hi Donna

It's quite tricky to put into words but here goes! (the numbers in square brackets eg [5] refer to Goran's tab).